The leaves of fall

The Literacy Tree grew into an actual idea, although not the same idea as I originally began with. We ended up using a real tree which I spray painted gold and strung with white LED Christmas lights. Then the students created Haiku leaves with wire stems. We hung the leaves on the branches of the tree like decorations. The effect was pretty cool, if I do say so myself. The leaves were able to sway and move which was a better effect than if they had been fixed. The students who made the leaves created some really interesting texture and colours within the range I gave them. I managed to restrain my nit-picky ways, and held off on insisting people with nice handwriting copy the poems on to the leaves. In the end, I figured it was more personal to see the individual “hands” rather than obliterating those voices for the sake of art.

Leave a Reply

